In many organisations you are likely to find increasing demand for users to directly access data. Often users want to build their own custom tabular reports or perhaps carry out ad-hoc analysis. Enabling the users to do this frees up data teams to be more strategic, ad-hoc requests are often tactical. In addition it also speeds things up for users, removing a dependency on a data team.

The Tableau web edit functionality enables tableau developers to give user direct but controlled access to the data. In addition it gives similar functionality as an Excel pivot table. This is a big advantage as most data-driven users will be familiar with the drag and drop methods.

Before allowing the users access to the Tableau data sources first consider some things.

  1. How to make it as simple as possible for the users. If they need to continually ask for guidance it defeats the object of enabling them.
  2. Save permissions – who is allowed to edit what? What are they allowed to save and to save where?
  3. Training – inappropriate use of Tableau Server data sources can have negative consequences on the server. If someone is trying to load millions of marks while web authoring it could have a serious negative impact on other server users. There should be good user training including do’s and don’t’s.

Build simple flat data sources

The first point about making it simple is very important. Most users are familiar with dragging and dropping flat tabular data within an Excel pivot table. Replicating the familiar Excel drag and drop functionality will give users a head start. Therefore ensure the data sources are ‘flat’ and clearly named. Also remove any obscure calculated fields. Simplicity is essential unless you want to spend much of your day fielding basic usage questions…or even worse, have no users at all.

Save / Save As / No Saving – set up the projects

Your Tableau self-service should mean the user:

  1. Is able to edit a template workbook
  2. Can’t overwrite the template workbook
  3. Is able to save their reports
  4. Can’t save in the same place as the template workbooks – this could confuse and clutter the template area

I don’t want the users to be able to edit the standard central dashboards. Therefore to meet the requirements create two new projects on the server. One to host the templates, where users will begin their web edit and the second for users to save their creations.

Tableau Web Edit Projects

My web edit templates are in a project called Self Service. This is because ‘web edit’ is unlikely to mean much to most users. There is another project, Self Service User Workbooks, where users save their own reports.

The worksheet templates are the starting point from where users will begin to web edit. Personally I prefer to keep these templates as simple as possible. Generally I publish a worksheet as a user starting point, not a dashboard. The worksheet only has a simple one measure and one dimension table. This is cleaner for the users when they begin to edit.

Tableau web edit Project Permissions

To meet our requirements users must:

  • have edit permissions in the Self Service and Self Service User Workbooks projects
  • save into Self Service User Workbooks
  • NOT save into the Self Service project

Project permissions can do all of the above. Tableau Web Edit permissions are not always obvious. I find setting up the Self Service project as follows works well:

Tableau Self Service Permissions

Under ‘Interact’ ticking Web Edit provides the Edit button to the report users. Connect allows the user to connect to the data source, which they need to be able to edit.

Under ‘Edit’ we are not allowing the user to Save into this folder. We don’t want them accidentally overwriting the templates or polluting the Self Service folder with their own workbooks.

A key here is Download. This activates the Save and Save As buttons.

Tableau Save Button

Without ‘DOWNLOAD’ ticked the Save options WON’T appear. Both save options come together, it’s currently not possible to have one without the other. Clicking the Save without permissions to save automatically becomes a Save As so this is not a problem.

The permissions of Self Service User Workbooks is as follows:

Tableau Self Service User Workbooks Permissions

The difference with this project compared to Self Service is now allowing the user to ‘Save’.

Another thing to note, although Delete is disabled, a user can still delete THEIR workbooks. They can’t delete any other workbooks.

Now all that’s left is to train the users. Try and prevent them doing anything that may freeze the server!